Upgrading Across Multiple Versions

   

These instructions apply to the following cases:

  • You want to upgrade the program across multiple versions.
  • You will leave the old installation alongside the new installation (as a backup).
  • For some reason, the upgrade program cannot find the old installation and therefore cannot suggest the upgrade.
  • Your workstation has changed, and you want to install a new G4 and move the design data from the old installation to the new one.



Do a New Installation

You can only upgrade from the previous version to the next one, for example 2019 (25.0) => 2020 (26.0).


A new installation on a workstation

Find out the current installation folder, for example

  • C:\vxg4 (This may be the stand-alone installation folder of Vertex G4, or the client installation folder of Vertex G4 installed on a server).
  • D:\vxed
  • C:\2500\vxbd

The new installation must be done to another folder.

However, if you want to use the folder of the old installation as the folder of the new installation, rename the old folder before installing the new one. For example, vxg4 => vxg4.old

  • Please note, that in this case you cannot start the old Vertex version.

See the installation instructions: One User Installation

A new installation on a server

Find out the current installation folder, for example

  • \\SERVER\vertex\vxg4_srv
  • \\SERVER\vertex\vxbd_srv
  • \\SERVER\vertex\vxed_srv

Also, find out the installation folder for the workstation licenses that use the server installation.

  • You can check the path from one of the workstations, or you can view the file
    \\SERVER\vertex\vx[..]_srv\Client_Install\bin\install.ini
    and check the keyword path= 
  • For example, D:\vertex\vxg4\

The new installation must be done to another folder so that the path of the workstation licenses is not used by the old version.

However, if you want to use the folder of the old installation as the folder of the new installation, rename the old folder before installing the new one. For example, vxg4_srv => vxg4_srv.old

  • Please note, that in this case you cannot start the old Vertex version.

See the installation instructions: File Server Installation


Move the Old Design Data to the New Installation

Design data

If you are going to leave the old design data as a backup, check the size of the shared folder of the old installation and compare it to the size of the disk space in use.

The previous design data (models, drawings, libraries and related databases) are in the shared folder or the old installation.

  • Rename the shared folder of the new installation, for example shared.org.
  • Copy or move the shared folder with all its sub folders from the old installation to the new one.


Setting data (Vertex G4), libraries (Vertex BD)

Depending on the application, the custom folder can contain settings differing from the delivery environment, or libraries.

If you want these to be included in the new installation, do the following:

  • Rename the custom folder of the new installation, for example custom.org.
  • Copy or move the custom folder with all its sub folders from the old installation to the new one.


Configuration files in the home directory

Different files and folders are stored in the home directory user. The most important one of these files is SETUP, which defines the directories used by the installation, for example.

  • This SETUP file MUST NOT be copied from the old installation to the new installation.

But the SETUP file (especially in the environments installed 10 or 15 years ago) may contain vital data to find models and drawings.

  • For example, The possible extra rows starting with MS_VOLUME need to be copied to the new user/SETUP (or user/SETUP.ALL) file.


Installing Workstation Licenses in File Server Solutions

These instructions do not apply to the installation of a stand-alone Vertex CAD program on a workstation.


Remove the old client installation from the workstation.

  • For example, the folder C:\vertex\vxg4 (make sure that the only folders under this folder are system/programs* and user. If the folder contains shared and custom folders, it is probably a stand-alone Vertex installation).
  • Or, an old application from the Control Panel > Programs and Features list, for example Vertex G4 Network Client 24.0.
    • The Network Client suggests that this is only the part installed on the workstation that does not contain design data.